[REVIEW] Hyouka

“Energy-conservative high school student Houtarou Oreki ends up with more than he bargained for when he signs up for the Classics Club at his sister’s behest—especially when he realizes how deep-rooted the club’s history really is. Begrudgingly, Oreki is dragged into an investigation concerning the 45-year-old mystery that surrounds the club room.”

Before I begin my review, I had better give you my personal rating; 8/10.

“8/10? That’s pretty good, I should probably watch this show” is what you’re thinking. What you should be thinking is “I’m going to watch this show NOW.”

Explaining Hyouka to my friends was a pretty difficult task because to be quite honest, not much happens. The show is a slice-of-life that follows high schooler Houtarou Oreki’s daily life in the Classics Club. Oreki doesn’t like having to do much, so you can imagine his discomfort when he suddenly has to do much.

My description isn’t great, I’ll admit but here’s how my friend summed it up (my friend being the internet) “Hyouka shows that normal life can be full of small mysteries, be it family history, a student film, or even the withered flowers that make up a ghost story.”

It’s kind of a mystery anime, it’s kind of a romance , it’s kind of a comedy and it’s kind of a drama. All I know is that I didn’t feel the same after watching it. So go watch it!

Leave a Reply

